Medicare Eligibility

Medicare eligibility refers to the qualifications that an individual must meet in order to enroll in and receive benefits from the Medicare program.

In the United States, Medicare is a federal health insurance program for individuals who are:

  • age 65 or older,
  • have a permanent disability,
  • have Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS or Lou Gehrig's disease)

Additionally, some people under 65 can also qualify for Medicare, such as those with End-Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) who require dialysis or kidney transplant.

To enroll in Medicare, individuals typically need to meet certain residency and citizenship requirements and have a valid Social Security number.

Related Glossary Terms

Related Resources

Still have questions? Give us a call below and a licensed advisor can assist you

Keen logo with a turtle mascot holding a shield
Hours of Operation:
8am-5pm ET, Monday-Friday
Closed Saturday & Sunday
Keen FacebookKeen LinkedIn
Keen Better Business Bureau Accredited
HIPAA, HIPAA compliant stamp

We are committed to making our website’s content accessible and user friendly to everyone.

If you are having difficulty viewing or navigating the content on this website, or notice any content, feature, or functionality that you believe is not fully accessible to people with disabilities, please email us at Please use “Accessibility Issue” as the subject line and provide a description of the specific accessibility issue or a suggestion for improvement.

We take your feedback seriously and will consider it as we evaluate ways to accommodate all of our customers and our overall accessibility policies.